The South African Spine Society

SA Spine Congress Contact us at SA Spine
South African Spine Society

Find a doctor

About Us
Doctor's Info
Patient Info
Useful Links
Contact Us

Contact Us

Tel: +27(0)21 404 5387
Fax: +27(0)21 404 5389

PO Box 656
Constantia 7848



The South African Spine Society is an independent professional organisation of medical and complementary health personnel.

The Society was founded in 1983 with the aim of promoting continuing medical education for health care professionals and disseminating knowledge on spine related disorders.

Founding Members
James B Craig
Guillaume du Toit
Steve MF Eisenstein
Leon J Grobler
Gert J Vlok

The Society strives to achieve and maintain the highest standard of excellence and ethical practice in the treatment of patients with spinal disorders. It supports proper scientific research and the sharing of such knowledge through publications, congresses, courses and interaction with other similar international organisations

The Purposes of the South African Spine Society are as follows:

a) To improve the quality of scientific knowledge and pursuit of high standards of excellence in patient care, clinical practice and related sciences among professionals in the field of spinal disorders.

b) To maintain an educational organization dedicated to the exchange of ideas and dissemination of scientific facts concerning the spine.

c) To provide instruction, scientific meetings and professional publications for surgical, non-operative and diagnostic purposes related to the spine.

d) To improve the means of communication with and support for scientists and clinicians in their work and to provide means for improving their work

e) To investigate and promulgate concepts and methods by which malfunctions of the spine may be detected and improved

f) To maintain the highest ethical standards for the organisation and to maintain full communication and interaction with other recognized bodies and specialty associations.

Past Presidents

1984 - Steve MF Eisenstein
1985 - Guillaume du Toit
1986 - James B Graig
1987 - Gert J Vlok
1988 - Leon J Grobler
1989 - Koos (JA) Louw
1990 - Teddy Govender
1991 - James B Graig
1992 - Gert J Vlok
1993 - John A Shipley
1994 - 1995 - Chris P Neser
1996 - 1997 - Mkhululi Lukhele
1998 - John A Shipley
1999 - Phillip FRG de Muelenaere
2000 - 2002 - Jim H Crosier
2002 - 2004 - Norman Fisher Jeffes
2004 - 2006 - Hans van Dyk
2006 - 2009 - Gian Marus
2009 - 2011 - Daan de Klerk
2011 - 2013 - Robert Dunn
2013 - 2015 - Pradeep Makan
May - July 2015 (Late) Gerrit Coetzee

Members Notice Board

Click here to see The SASS Congresses in Pictures

Nov 2016 Newsletter
now available on the
Members Only Section

About Us